• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Blog Tip of the Day

“Do you know where this photo is from?”

I’ve read that (and typed that myself) so many times since starting a blog. Sometimes it feels like the battle to properly credit photographs (that is, not listing Pinterest, Tumblr, or some other photo sharing site) is never ending. It’s tough these days!

Last week Meg posted a great Alt Summit recap that included her own notes on image crediting. I am in complete agreement with her that it’s vital to pin and source from a permalink. Oh, the number of hours I’ve spent combing through someone’s Tumblr because an image credit listed just a Tumblr page versus a post URL…

Sarah turned me on to a great bookmarklet recently that can help you source images, because it integrates with Google Image Search! It’s not foolproof, but it’s worked better than any other photo searching resource I’ve tried, including TinEye. I was a little confused the first time I opened it, so here’s what you do. Once you open the page, drag the blue link that reads ?¿src-img to your bookmarks bar. Then, on any webpage (it can even be a Pinterest or Tumblr page), click on the bookmark whenever you want to try and source an image. Question marks will appear on every image on that page — click the one you want to source. A new window that contains a Google Image Search will open up! For some images, you’ll have to comb through pages and pages of re-pins and Tumblr posts, but if you’re sleuthy, you can often pick a couple blogs and odds are that one of them will mention where the photo is originally from. Give it a try!

PS — The response to Mini-Alt Week ‘n such was so good that I decided to keep the momentum going. So I’ll be popping in now and again with a blog tip of the day. Do you love it??

{Image Credit: Lonny Magazine, Nov/Dec 2011. Photograph by Patrick Cline}

33 Responses

  1. Awesome! Thanks for the tip- can’t wait to try this.

  2. I love it! Thank you!
    Tineye has unfortunately failed me more times than I care to admit. (don’t get me wrong, it has been great before too!) I will definitely try your suggestion!

  3. Love it! Thanks for the info.

  4. Love it! Thank you! And yes, the Blog Tip of the Day is great – keep it going!

  5. Great tip! Thanks!

  6. This is a great tip. It’s really hard to credit the right people with their photos. You want to make sure the right person is being credited. Sometimes doing that takes longer than the actual post….but I’m sure the person who actually took the photo really appreciates it. :) Keep these tips going.

  7. Awesome tip. I have running into this problem more than once. The worst is someone who has pinned a picture form a Tumblr. Keep the tips coming!

  8. I have learned SO MUCH from your blog over the past few days… I’m so glad I found it! I’m going to the IFB conference next week and hope it’s even half as informative as the Alt Summit. So excited! Love the blog tip of the day, please keep ’em coming!

  9. Love it! Excited to read more. :)

  10. Definitely love it. I heard of the bookmarklet a few weeks ago (maybe you? did you tweet it?), and I think it’s such a great idea! And yes, I still looove your blogging tips, etc. Keep ’em coming!

  11. I love it!! You come up with the best ideas!

  12. Oh, this is one of my pet peeves, so I am so happy you posted about it. I am loving the tips, keep em comin. xo

  13. Hi V ~ I found your amazing site when I was following all the #altsummit tips on twitter. Thank you so much for the recap. Your info share is so generous!
    Can we talk about your site for a second? Beautiful layouts, so much great advice, and fun to read. A trifecta in my book ;) (Ok, gushing done.)
    I, hands down, love the idea of a “Blog Tip of the Day” and look forward to reading more.

  14. Wow! I am in awe. I was just (like 30 mins ago) so bummed because I found a pair of sunglasses on Pinterest that I adored but alas, the source was tumblr, with NO image credit. I just added the src img toolbar and found the sunglasses came from Ralph Lauren…. thank you SO MUCH!

  15. Your advice is so great. It really helps and I am so glad you are going to continue!!

  16. You really are the best! Thanks for sharing :)

  17. YESSS! Finally and I agree, TUMBLR has claimed hours of my life because of a lack of proper sourcing.

  18. I love this idea! I recently started blogging and your tips are so helpful. I will be checking out all you have to say about blogging and the links you’ve given in your mini-alt week. Love it all!

  19. Guilty as charged for always putting pinterest down lately! Great tip to help give credit where it’s due!

  20. Great tip girl! I am guilty myself of crediting Pintrest too much :-(

  21. I just started blogging and love all this info! Its priceless. Thank you!

  22. So neat! Definitely trying. xo, rv

    http://aneclecticheap.blogspot.com/

  23. Oh I’m going to confess something: I hate when people credit an image to “their pinterest”. I mean, I’m ok with people linking to someone else’s pinterest (though that’s not even the proper way, and yes I admit I do this, got to work on it) but to just link to your pinterest as the source?
    Loving all the advice you’re sharing, thanks! ;)

  24. This is a great tip. Thanks so much for posting. I’ve done that so many times and gotten so frustrated.

  25. I love that you are continuing to provide tips/advice for bloggers. It is especially helpful to me because I want to develop my own blog voice and your guidance is sooo beneficial!

  26. Love it!! And super thanks for the how-to! I found your blog via the Mini-Alt week series and I am super hooked, and thrilled that you’ll be continuing little ‘blog tips.’ Thank you!!

  27. love it!! the alt week posts were so helpful! thank you :) xx

  28. Would LOVE to see the tips keep coming V! You’ve done a fab job so far :)

    Nancy xo

  29. I do love it. Keep em coming.

    And totally agree about proper sources. I’ve been bad about it in the past but once I saw other people blogging about my own home and not giving me credit I suddenly “got it,” and now am trying much harder to credit designer and photographer.

  30. OMG! I love this. This is going to come in so handy! Pinterest is the worst about not sourcing to the original url. It frustrates me daily so I thoroughly appreciate this tid-bit!

  31. […] my twitter feed blew up), I was loving all of the tips coming in. To keep the momentum, Victoria posted another tip this week that’s useful to any blogger using photos they found online. Yay, crediting the source! ♥ […]

  32. Ok I know I’m WEEKS late, but I just had to say: I only just got around to trying this, and I have a feeling it will CHANGE MY LIFE. It works like a treat! I found an image source in 2 minutes as opposed to drilling through thousands of Tumblr and Pinterest pages. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

