• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Little Luxuries

I’m a girl who, when I can swing it, has no qualms about indulging in little luxuries for herself. A good facial, a heavenly massage — these things are all so worth the expense, in my opinion.

For the last few years, I’ve had massages from a fantastic woman here in SF named Nell Waters, who runs a practice named Whole Body Tonic. It’s located in the city’s Dogpatch neighborhood, and shares a space with an acupuncture practice, called Acupuncture Kitchen. So when Nell emailed me to let me know that the two practices had opened up a pop-up shop selling bath salts, soaps, various linens, and a homemade hot cocoa mix that was out of this world, I popped down to learn more.

The pop-up shop consists of a reclaimed antique cupboard filled with lots of fun goodies to peruse while you wait for your massage or acupuncture. Adorable. If you’re in SF, I highly recommend you check out Whole Body Tonic or Acupuncture Kitchen. While I haven’t experimented with acupuncture (have any of you? What was it like??), Nell gives the best massages in the city, I’m sure of it. She was kind enough to contact Apotherie Chocolates, the inventor of the famed hot cocoa recipe, so I could share it with all of you. How delicious does this sound?

{Image Credits: Note to Self; Parsec Traveller Flickr; Pinterest}

14 Responses

  1. Agreed. The little luxuries are worth it. And this new little shop sounds heavenly!

  2. Aaaah, what would life be like without the luxuries. Somehow the ones that don’t cost all that much either (like cocoa) are often the best…

  3. Wow this hot cocoa looks amazing. You have me craving a nice homemade cup right now. It’s always so much better made with milk :) And I totally agree on the indulgences.. you only live once!

  4. I too love to indulge in a little hot cocoa…it’s an instant pick-me-up. Something to remember during the crazy holiday season!

  5. umm this is going on my “must-make-TONIGHT” list. Yes, I have one of those.

  6. I have never seen more “luxurious” cocoa photos. Drooling…

  7. Wow, I am impressed. And am now craving some!

  8. Yum! I wish I was in SF and could check out the shop!
    fashiontruffles.blogspot.com

  9. love the cocoa photos!! and totally agree on little luxuries!

  10. I totally agree – the little luxuries are the best. That cocoa looks incredible, I want to make it!!

  11. I am all about the little luxuries! Going to try this…with the rose petals or maybe rose water, oh or maybe rose liqueur. Now its a party.

  12. I gotta try this! I am in desperate need of a massage. And acupuncture, I have tried, but only on my ear during a class presentation. And I just bled. So, um I don’t know about that.

  13. acupuncture kitchen is the best! i can’t wait to try this recipe.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

