• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Behind the Scenes with So Much to Smile About

For this week’s Behind the Scenes, I’d like to introduce you to Liz, a DC based gal who writes the fashion blog So Much to Smile About. Her blog is always guaranteed to give me a daily dose of style inspiration, along with fun snapshots of what it’s like to live in the nation’s capital. I love Liz’s positive attitude and sunny outlook on life — as she says on her about page, “Life really is a beautiful thing, and there’s so very much to smile about.”

Name and age: Liz, 25
Your Blog: So Much to Smile About
Current City: Washington, DC

5 places I want to visit in my lifetime…

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to do nearly as much traveling as I’d like, and there are so many different places I’d love to visit! I’ve never been anywhere in the Caribbean and it always looks so warm and beautiful! I love a great beach and could really use the relaxation right about now. I’ve also never been to Italy and it would be such a dream to spend some time there. I’m planning to learn the language soon and visiting would be the perfect reward! Ecuador is also on my list, and has been ever since I did a class project on the country in grade school. And trips to Spain and South Africa would be amazing as well. Of course, any traveling I can do would be welcome!

4 books I want to read in the next year…

I have a pile of books next to my bed I’m meaning to read, including Legacy of Ashes by Tim Weiner, The Complete Stories of Truman Capote, which includes a number of short stories by the author, and The Girl Who Played with Fire. I read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo but haven’t finished the series yet! I also can’t believe I haven’t read The Help. Everyone has been raving about it and I promised myself I’d read the book before seeing the movie!

3 photos that exemplify what I want my life to look like in 5 years… 

one, two, three

In five years, I really just hope I’m living a life I’m proud of, surrounded by the amazing family and friends I have today. I’d love to have planned or be planning my own wedding, especially after helping so many friends plan theirs! I imagine I’ll still be working hard, whether I continue working in government relations or try a new career path. Hopefully, I’m also still working hard at my blog five years from now! And I’m looking forward to getting a place of my own that I can decorate and entertain friends at. I live with a couple amazing roommates right now but should probably have a more grown up place when I’m 30, right?

2 goals I’m currently working on (and what I’m doing to get there)…

one, two

Right now, a lot of my goals have to do with growing my blog and taking advantage of the amazing opportunities it brings! I want to learn more about graphic and web design, photography, and event planning. And of course, I will continue to share all the things that make me smile! I am also focused on several friends who are getting married and making sure their big day is everything they had dreamed of. I have a number of bachelorette parties, bridal showers, and weddings in the next few months! It can be a lot of work but is always a lot of fun!

1 thing I’ve been dreaming about is… 

one

I’m a big dreamer and have lots of little wishes, like going back to school, living abroad, writing a book, starting a family, or being a wildly successful blogger, but overall, I always just dream of creating a life that allows me to do what I love, be happy, and give back to others.

How did your blog get its name?

It’s actually taken from the end of a Marilyn Monroe quote that says, “Keep trying, hold on, and always, always, always believe in yourself, because if you don’t, then who will, sweetie? So keep your head high, keep your chin up, and most importantly, keep smiling, because life’s a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about.” I love that quote because it’s such an important message to remember. There really is so much to smile about, no matter how difficult things can get, and my blog continually reminds me of this. I thought the name was really fitting!

Who serves as a source of inspiration for you?

I’m most inspired by my family and my friends, who are all so hard-working and kind. I’m certain I wouldn’t be where I am today without them. On a daily basis, I’m also inspired by everything from music and photography to street style and architecture. And I follow so many amazing blogs that inspire me, like  Cheetah is the New Blackapartment 34Cupcakes and CashmereDesign Love Fest and Pretty Shiny Sparkly. There are easily too many to name and I’m always finding more – the incridible amount of creativity that exists in the blogging world is amazing to me!

What is your proudest achievement to date?

one

I think getting my first job and moving halfway across the country to an unfamiliar city was one of my proudest moments. At the time, I didn’t know anyone here and I don’t even really remember why I decided that I wanted to live in DC, I just knew that it was time I tried something outside the Midwest. Now, I can’t imagine being anywhere other than DC and I’m so thankful I took such a huge risk.

Where is your favorite place to rest and re-charge?

My bed! I don’t have a laptop so there is no blogging in bed, just relaxing and watching tv or movies… and occasionally sleeping! Of course, there’s nothing like visiting my home in Wisconsin where my parents still live. There’s something about being at home that really gets me to clear my head and feel less stressed.

When did you first start blogging, and why do you keep doing it?

I started blogging in August of 2010. In DC, work really slows down during the whole month of August while Congress in on recess. Some people go on vacation but I started a blog! When I started it, it was really just something I was doing for myself that allowed me to be creative and industrious. For that reason I swear I’d keep blogging even if no one was reading! Of course, the readers I have and the relationships I’ve formed have become a huge part of why I love it so much!

7 Responses

  1. I’m new to her blog and so happy for the BTS intro! That Marilyn quote is great, words to live by!! off to check out her blog. xx

  2. Beautiful post I love your creativity with these interviews, I love how you introduce to your readers other great blogs.

    love. Now going to go check out her blog. =)

    -V

    http://stylishlyme.com

  3. Great post! I am a big fan of Liz’s blog!

  4. I love this interview/feature. The questions are so well thought out. Thanks for posting and thanks to Liz for sharing!

  5. I love this series… Liz was one of my first blogging buddies… her blog is wonderful!

  6. I love this series, Victoria! You ask some really fun questions and I love being introduced to great new blogs!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

