• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Shaken and Stirred

When I was thinking about what kind of mixers to get for the party we hosted on Saturday, it occurred to me that people often don’t know the measurements to make their favorite cocktails. I mean, when’s the last time you mixed yourself a Manhattan or an Old Fashioned, right on the spot? I definitely couldn’t do it. So, to give people cocktail ideas, and to also add a handmade touch to the beverage table, I came up with this idea for cocktail recipe cards:

This was really simple to put together. I bought the scalloped cards from Paper Source (the dark navy helped keep things more gender neutral). For the stands, I stopped by a local restaurant supply warehouse, and got a few different sizes to mix things up. They were very inexpensive — the short ones were around $.60, the tallest maybe $3 or $4. I looked up recipes for a variety of cocktails, then using silver and gold pens, wrote them out.

They turned out great! And guests loved that they had a guideline to making their favorite drink, or had something new to try. Mixing up drinks became a fun conversation piece for the party.

Random tip for your next party: I made a couple cards with cocktails that utilized grapefruit juice and those were a HIT with guys and gals alike. The grapefruit juice was completely gone by the end of the night! Who knew?

Oh, and in case you were wondering, the party was a smashing success. A little too much so (ahem…emphasis on ‘smash’). There was music, there was dancing, and there were LOTS of cocktails. I think I single handedly rendered Sunday useless for at least 15 people. Whoops! :)

Happy Monday, everyone!

23 Responses

  1. Love all of the signs and you’re right.. I never know how much liquor to add.. or anything for that matter. Glad the party was a success!!

  2. your handwriting is amazing! I’m obsessed – great idea!

  3. What a great idea!!!

  4. super cute! love those designerly signs – you have all kinds of skills! will definitely be referencing this next time we throw a shindig. hope you’re fully recovered today :)

  5. I bet it was so much fun! I wish I could have been there!!!!

  6. Such a great idea!! I wish I had seen this before my house warming on Saturday. DEFINITELY doing this next time.

  7. Hehehe…sounds like a *great* party! I think the 15 useless people are thanking you still (c:

  8. Love this idea, never thought to put out the ingredients and measurements like that. BTW you have incredible handwriting, mine is like a doctors and I’m not even a doctor. Thanks for the great idea!!!

  9. Such a cute idea – LOVE it!

  10. Very cool idea. Your penmanship is outstanding.

  11. so adorable! absolutely love this idea… and yes, your penmanship = perfection!!

  12. What a fun and stylish idea! I bet everyone had a great time concocting new drinks!

    And I agree with everyone…you have fabulous penmanship!

  13. These are adorable and genius! I’d definitely be guzzling down the grapefruit juice…Salty Dogs are one of my favorite cocktails! I rendered myself useless for all of Sunday… ooops. Cheers lady!

  14. What a fun idea! One more month ’til this baby pops out and I get to have a real cocktail and not a mocktail!. Thanks for the ideas!

  15. LOVE IT. You did an amazing job.

  16. OK these are the best cocktail cards I have ever seen! And your photos are gorgeous. I really thought this was a Style Me Pretty spread or something.

    I’m horrible at making drinks. I downloaded the Mad Men drinks app and it has all of the classics. Kinda fun.

    Invite me to your next party! ;o)

  17. I just came across your blog and I’m so glad I did! An unproductive Sunday is the sign of a wonderful weekend in my book :)

  18. You have such beautiful handwriting!

  19. I can’t believe you made those!!! They look AMAZING!! And great idea – looks like a fun party!

  20. I’m SO impressed with the idea and its execution! I don’t have the handwriting to pull it off.

  21. Oh my gosh!! How cute are you?! Such a good idea and love your bar area!

  22. fabulous idea doll! and boy do you have fabulous handwriting!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

