• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Behind the Scenes with Because It’s Awesome

Before I introduce this week’s Behind the Scenes blogger, I wanted to let you know I’m over at Arianna Belle’s blog today, sharing how I display my makeup and a few other pretty things on my dresser. Be sure to stop by and say hello! And if you haven’t discovered her blog, my my are you in for a treat. It’s the kind of thing where you read it and are constantly coming across “Why didn’t I think of that?” ideas for organizing items in your home, along with tons of decorating inspiration.

And now, onto MORE goodness. This week, it’s all about Tobe, the talent and voice behind Because It’s Awesome. Tobe, another gifted graphic designer (and design lover, natch), has created two of my favorite features in blogland: The I Am Project (source of countless pinned quotes), and Type Tuesday. Ooh boy, I love me some good typography and packaging design, and Tobe’s constantly sharing great finds. I also just happen to think she’s a lovely person, and couldn’t wait to learn more about her. Take it away, Tobe!

Name and age: Tobe, 30
Your Blog: Because It’s Awesome
Current City: Kansas City, MO

5 places I want to visit in my lifetime 


bluepoolroad  ||  national geographic  ||  this is glamorous

Italy, Australia, Brazil, Spain and the Caribbean

4 books I want to read in the next year 

This one’s tough. Books just happen to me. I have a few girls that make amazing recommendations, so I usually  take their advice. The Hunger Games and the Harry Potter series are both definitely on my list, though.

3 photos that exemplify what I want my life to look like in 5 years 

I hope to have found an amazing home, be raising a couple of chitlins and find myself living whatever dream I wish at the time.


pinterest  ||  jonathan adler  ||  tracery interiors  ||  sunset mag  ||  lay baby lay

2 goals I’m currently working on (and what I’m doing to get there) 

Oh, goodness. I’m always working on something! Too many things, really. One of my goals is to test my salsa recipe for reproduction in the next year. I’m working on the branding in all of my free moments now. The other is one that anyone currently reading the blog is probably more than familiar with — My husband and I are in the process of moving from our downtown loft to a house. It’s been a trying process to say the least.

One thing I’ve been dreaming about is…

If I’m dreaming big, one of the things I fantasize about is buying an old firehouse in the urban core of Kansas City, and converting it into a boutique hotel. It would have bed & breakfast tendencies, rotating furnishings (that i shop for constantly, of course), double as a gallery space one weekend a month and function cooperatively with nearby shops and eateries. All of the rooms are named, if that tells you how far along the dream is….

coco+kelley  ||  la maison boheme ||  design*sponge ||  in a state of luxe  ||  mfamb  ||  desire to inspire  ||  marcus design  ||  gemma comas photography

How did your blog get its name? 

When I transitioned from my former blog, Two Tall Blondes (my freelance design firm), I wanted something that really represented what blogging is about for me. When I cut away all of the fancy, it just comes down to posting awesome things (possibly one of the most over-used words in my vocabulary, btw). I mean, why do we really post anything on our blogs? You know why. Because it’s awesome : )

Who serves as a source of inspiration for you?

For me, inspiration is truly everywhere!! I’m a very visual person (duh) and a total feeler, so people and pretties both do their fair share of inspiring me.

What is your proudest achievement to date? 

This one’s hard. I’ve surprised myself so many times in my life with what I’ve been willing to try. So I guess that would have to be it. I’m proud of continually pushing myself out of my comfort zone! Whether it be flying an airplane, jumping out of one, traveling to a foreign country alone, being the first person on the dance floor, taking a career leap…It’s so much more energizing when we live a little on the edge, isn’t it?

image my own  ||  pinterest  ||  teal cheesecake  ||  image my own

Where is your favorite place to rest and re-charge? 

I am a firm believer that your home should be your haven. But when I really want to get away, I’m either at the bookstore with a stack of magazines and a tall coffee in-hand, or I’m a few hundred miles from home in the middle of nowhere on my grandparents’ quiet farm. I spent summers there as a kid, so the combined fond memories and absolute departure from the norm really make for a perfect escape. Plus, Grandma always has great advice and homemade potato salad.

When did you first start blogging, and why do you keep doing it? 

I started blogging in 2009 under my freelance partnership, Two Tall Blondes, as a way to log inspiration and create a voice for the business. After some time, I realized that I was holding back just enough that the experience wasn’t as rewarding as I knew it could be. So in February of 2011 (and with my partner’s graces), I started BIA. Definitely the number one reason I continue to do it is the community. So many bloggers say that, and it’s because it’s the honest truth. Any time I get in a rut, it just takes a timely comment or two to remind me what I would be missing out on if I quit. Of course, there is never a shortage of inspiration out there and it serves as an incredible creative outlet as well.

Thanks, Victoria, for asking me to participate in this amazing series! It really is so fantastic to hear a little more about some of the ladies whose blogs I visit daily….and meet those that I haven’t come across yet!

16 Responses

  1. I absolutely love this series. It gets better every time. So much fun learning more about Tobe!

  2. Always love to learn more about Tobe…I just really love this series as well. I always feel hopeful and inspired after reading it. xo

  3. Tobe, let me know when that B&B is open, when I am at the cabin I’ll come up for a few nights and you can show me what KC is all about! Great post!! xx

  4. Thanks for a beautiful post! I’m a fan of both of you so the combo was truly great! X

  5. I love this series, ever single week its amazing. so interesting to learn about new bloggers, what inspires them & how they got started. I hope you keep it coming!

  6. Thanks, ladies!! This really made me think about some things, and I always love that. Victoria, super honored to be a part of the series! Just in case I haven’t made that perfectly clear :) oxox

  7. The images in this post are amazing! I’m suddenly feeling really inspired. Loved learning more about Tobe!

  8. this boutique hotel sounds amazing! Make it happen, Tobe! It would be a good reason for me to come see Kansas City ;)

  9. Checked you out at Arianna’s. Her blog always makes me feel so at ease.

    Lovely photos from Tobe.

  10. Selling your homemade salsa recipe? I love it!

  11. You have to make that boutique hotel happen- it sounds utterly divine and the inspiration pictures…absolutely gorgeous! I loved learning even more about you in this post- read every word and enjoyed every second of it…you’re fabulous!!! As always,love this series Victoria! xo

  12. Beautiful photos Tobe, of course! Love the idea of a boutique hotel, and your pics are truly inspirational. Just pin those up on your wall to remind you every day that you CAN and WILL do it.

    Thanks for having Tobe, Victoria — she’s awesome.

  13. This series is always amazing. So fun to learn more about Tobe!

  14. I love Tobe and really loved hearing more about her. Great series per usual, it’s so nice to learn more about the fabulous women we read every day. x

  15. I love this series… love Tobe… following her blog now! xo

  16. A. Love every single interior image!!!!! B. LOVE this series C. going to her blog now!!!
    xoxo e&a

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

