• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Behind the Line

Last week when I was flipping through shows on style.com, one of my favorite parts was getting to the last photo in a slideshow, because these are usually pictures of the designer. It’s such an interesting study, don’t you think? To see what the designer is wearing, their attitude, their facial expression. Are they happy? Embarrassed? Serious? Humble? CRAZY looking? Are they dressed to impress and well rested, or do they look like they’ve been running around amped up on caffeine (and sans shower) for the last 72 hours? Everyone approaches their work differently, so there’s no right or wrong way to come out and say hello. I just think it’s fascinating to note the differences between each person.

In case you’re wondering, Betsey Johnson fell into the crazy category.

PS, this is my last fashion week-related post, PROMISE.

{Image Credits: style.com}

 

 

11 Responses

  1. I love this post!! Absolutely fascinating… I love seeing what the designers themselves are wearing, and how they conduct themselves. You are totally right about Betsey Johnson – hilar… DVF is her usual charismatic self… and how cute is Cynthia Rowley!? I was surprised to see how awkward Jenny Packham looked…she shoulda ditched the sunnies!

  2. I love Cynthia Rowley. She seems like a genuinely nice person. And Carolina Herrera is always so sophisticated and classy.

  3. I loved this little peek at the designers…they definitely don’t get the attention their designs do! And how adorable is Cynthia Rowley??? I’m almost embarrassed to admit this, but until last week, I had no idea that Elie Tahari was a dude. True Story. LOVE the designs, but thought it was a chick. Whoops. (c:

    • I was in the same boat! Three years ago, I knew someone who had interned for him,
      and when I said, “Elie Tahari…I love HER stuff!” I was definitely corrected.

      Womp womp.

  4. Great idea!! DVF, Michael Kors, Derek Lam, Philip Lim…love those looks the best.

  5. Great post! I’m always interested in the designer and I have to admit I have a weak spot for Mr. Jacobs!

  6. Love this round up of photos, the designer photo is like saving the best for last. Ohhh and gotta love Betsey. Living life to the fullest!

  7. love this post! so funny :)

  8. I love seeing the designers. My favorite is DVF. I think she is stunning.

  9. i love that last shot too! except when the designer i used to work for, a strong personality that loved attention and drama, would meekly peek up with a slight wave, almost embarrassed and i realized it’s all image, not reality. i personally LOVE betsey johnson’s spirit – she does the splits every time and said she will until she can’t any more! how fun is that? but dvf for the win – glamour and exuberance.

  10. I LOVE this post! I love seeing the behind-the-scenes aspect of fashion in addition to the ready, styled shots. I just watched “Seamless” over the weekend, and now have huge crushes on Proenza Schouler… those cuties should be featured on the next one!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

