• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

9.2.11

Hard to believe that Labor Day weekend is upon is, right? Where has 2011 gone?

To all my American readers, what are your plans for the long weekend? Doing anything fun to celebrate the end of the summer?

This weekend, we’re headed back to Texas. Joe’s sister recently had a baby, so we are taking our new uncle and auntie status seriously and paying the family a long awaited visit. On the other end of the spectrum, my grandmother has unfortunately been in the hospital for several weeks, so I’ll be staying in Texas all through next week to give my mom some assistance — she’s been a trooper and has been making multiple visits to the hospital, daily, for almost a month! In addition to visiting my grandma, it’ll be nice to check in on my mom and make her a home cooked meal or two. I plan on blogging a bit, but if you don’t see a post until Tuesday, you’ll know why!

If you have a quiet moment this weekend, be sure to check out these fantastic links:

+ The epitome of prep: a DIY rope necklace. Perfect if you’re hosting a ‘summer’s last hurrah’ beach barbecue this weekend.
+ Ooh la la! A post on the art of shopping for lingerie in Paris. Très chic!
+ I found this New York Times article on the concept of decision fatigue fascinating. Makes me look at my after work retail therapy sessions in a whole new light.
+ Fellow bloggers, listen up! You won’t want to miss this collection of useful tips on growing your blog, courtesy of Bri Emery.
+ It’s a look I could never pull off, but I loved the photos pulled together in this post on white maxi dresses. Long white dresses into fall? Who would’ve thunk it?
+ An interesting (if not probably typical) interview with Anna Wintour. I don’t really know what I think about her other than she fascinates me. I still haven’t seen The September Issue. Have you? What’d you think?
+ Impress your friends at a Labor Day party this weekend with the history of the holiday. And for you non-US readers, now you actually know what the heck everyone is talking about.

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

{Image Credits: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7}

4 Responses

  1. Enjoy your time in TX! I hope your grandma gets better. I will be going to your neck of the woods for some girl time and wine tasting in Napa. Hooray!

  2. thanks so much for the shout-out… the rope necklace is SO much fun to make! i’m working on another great DIY for this weekend! have a blast in texas… i’m headed out east for one last (long!) weekend in southampton… can’t believe how quickly the summer flew by! xox

  3. Thank you again for all the recommended weekend reading, and I am so so sorry to hear about your grandma. I’m glad you’ll get to be there for her and your mom, and see the new baby!

    I did see The September Issue. It was really fascinating, IMO. I recommend!

  4. I loved the September Issue… you’ll add another Vogue leading lady to your fascinated list and start rooting for Grace Coddington!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

