• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Behind the Scenes with lark & linen

Today I’m so happy to introduce you to Jacquelyn from the lovely blog lark & linen. Jacquelyn’s a Toronto-based interior designer who shares beautiful, inspiring interiors, photography and recipes on her daily blog. Not only that, but with a bit of coaching and a friendly ear, she was also the blogger that gave me the courage to write some of my more recent personal posts here on vmac+cheese! She’s truly a gem and I’m so happy to have discovered her blog — you will be too. Read on to learn more about her and be sure to check out lark & linen!

Name and age: Jacquelyn, 25

Your Blog: lark & linen

Current City: Toronto

5 places I want to visit in my lifetime

Oh geez. This question is almost mean! Traveling is absolutely my most favourite thing in the world. I will go wherever I possibly can whenever the opportunity presents itself, and I hope to one day see the world in it’s entirety. I once read a quote “life is a book and those who don’t travel only read one page”. The knowledge I absorb, the excitement I experience, the adventures that await… The amount of pleasure that I get from travelling is unexplainable and I cannot wait to get up and head out to my next destination. If I’m absolutely forced to narrow it down to five places it would have to be the following, and you should note that this question took far too long for me to answer!

-Cinque Terre, Italy. A friend of mine just returned and cannot stop gushing about it. I really feel like I must experience it for myself

-Lika, Croatia. My coworker is from Croatia and up until getting to know him, I had no idea that it was such a beautiful spot! Some of the pictures I’ve come across don’t even look real.

-South Africa. Mostly because I’m in the works of planning a trip there this coming may (hopefully I didn’t just jinx it)

-Ireland. One of my very best friends has recently picked up and moved with her accent-clad beau to his hometown in Ireland. The reunion that will ensue once I make my way there will be out of this world, I just know it!

-Laos, Thailand. It seems like the perfect combination of adventure, culture and relaxation.

4 books I want to read in the next year

There are a number that have been on my radar for some time, but the following four definitely top the list:
-Bossy Pants, Tina Fey
-The Paris Wife, Paula McLain
-My father’s daughter (technically not a book book, but still counts right? My girl crush on Gwyneth Paltrow knows no bounds. I can’t wait to get my hand on this cookbook)
-Left Neglected, Lisa Genova

3 photos that exemplify what I want my life to look like in 5 years

In five years I hope to own my own modestly size home, with a big, beautiful garden in front, and herbs and vegetables growing in the back. The white picket fence is not necessary, but it does add that additional charm, I must admit. I hope that my days, weeks and months are filled with travel and interior design, simultaneously. And I hope that my life is chalk full of memorable moments, romance, good food, even better friends, laughing until my cheeks hurt and good hair (because, why not?)

2 goals I’m currently working on (and what I’m doing to get there) 

One of the things I’m always actively working on is choosing happiness every day. Because I really, truly believe that it is a choice. It’s so easy to let the little things get you down, and it is a lot of work to find the silver lining in even the crummiest of situations, but I promise you that it is possible. And in the long run I’ve found that it definitely pays off.

Another one of my goals is to branch further into residential design, one of my true passions. I’ve done free-lance work on the side, but the firm I’ve been working at for the last five years focuses on other areas of design. I’ve recently accepted a job at a brand new firm that promises some action in the residential design category. I’m so excited to further pursue that avenue of design!

1 thing I’ve been dreaming about is…

Lately I’ve had a lot of thoughts surrounding the idea of working abroad for a year or so. Combining my passion for travel and interior design would just be the ultimate situation. I don’t think that this is in the cards within the near future, but it’s definitely an idea that I toy with quite often.

How did your blog get its name?

Before starting lark + linen I was an avid blog reader (ahem, stalker). I realized that I tended to favour blogs that combined a love of all things design, as well as a glimpse into the author’s life. I liked getting to know these bloggers on an intimate level (without being privy to their entire life story). When starting up my own blog, I knew that I wanted to find a way to combine the two scenarios. A lark may be described as a merry, care-free adventure, relating to the small adventures I’m faced with on the daily. While linen is considered a woven, unfussy fabric. It’s easily one of my favourites to work with as it’s natural, it’s beautiful and it’s incredibly versatile. The linen in my blog name brings to light the idea of interior design, while the lark refers to the glimpses I share of my own personal day to day life.

Who serves as a source of inspiration for you?

Oh my gosh. Another impossible question! I find that it’s possible to find inspiration in every direction you look. The key is to actually look. And if you don’t find it, don’t force it. It will come when its good and ready. Lately, when I’m feeling stuck, I find I gravitate towards some of my favourite blogs. There are so many incredibly talented women out there it’s mind-boggling. The ones that I never miss are brunch at sakstwig & lilydesign love festdainty & floral, and because it’s awesome (to name a few of many, many, many…)

What is your proudest achievement to date?

I feel pretty proud of all that I’ve accomplished so far. I’m proud of my career, I’m proud of the man I’ve decided to spend my time with, I’m proud of my family and each and every one of my friends for their own individual reasons. I think it’s fairly safe to say that I’m in a really great place in my life at this moment. I wasn’t always here, and it took a lot of work to get to where I am, but it’s all been worth it so far.;

Where is your favorite place to rest and re-charge?

My bed! It’s one of my very favourite spots. You can ask anyone that knows me and they’ll vouch that I’m the biggest nap advocate in the world. You cannot beat a good solid nap.

In close second is my family’s cottage in Thunder Bay. I actually just returned from a week-long stint there (you can read about it here). It’s literally in the middle of nowhere, disconnected from anything and everything with breathtaking views of a virtually unpopulated lake. I always come home feeling brand new after any length of time up there.

When did you first start blogging, and why do you keep doing it? 

I’ve been blogging for a little over a year now. I keep doing it for a few reasons. One: the people that I’ve met along the way. It’s safe to say that I’m a better person for having “met” many of you. Additionally, I find that it’s such an incredible creative outlet for me. It’s a spot that I can call my own where I can document and share all of the amazing talent and pretty things that I stumble across on the daily.

13 Responses

  1. […] can find me over here today! Victoria from vmac and cheese has asked me to participate in her “behind the […]

  2. i’m afraid that i just invited myself on your Italy trip, J. ox

  3. Love getting to know Jacqueline even better! We would be excellent travel buddies! xoxo

  4. I love the free spirit in all of Jacqueline’s answers! Her love for travel is contagious – now I want to go visit every place in the world. I also love how she says we choose happiness. So very true.

  5. I loved reading the Jacquelyn and the story behind your blog name is wonderful.

    Thank you for sharing with us!

  6. thanks ladies!
    And thank you so so much Victoria – it was so much fun

  7. I love this series!!!

  8. Ok so Cinque Terre is one of the most beautiful places on earth! I am counting the minutes until I can go back. Stunning and perfect!

  9. What a wonderful post! Jacquelyn ha a lovely blog and it’s nice to find out more about her. It’s amazing how many talented people there are in the blogosphere. :)
    Ada

  10. What a lovely behind the scenes peek at a beautiful and poetic blogger. Swoon to everything that was shown and said. <3

  11. you really need to go to croatia !! like is beautiful and wild but the coast and the lies have more to offer!!!

    a croatian girl from france!!

  12. Love this post…. Lark + Linen is one of my favourite blogs! I discovered it some time ago when I first started blogging! Happy Blogging everyone :)
    Stu
    http://whatwilsonwants.blogspot.com/

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

