• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Behind the Scenes with designstILes

This week I was stoked to get a glimpse into the life of Irene Lovett, mostly because her fashion and interiors posts on the blog designstILes never fail to delight and entertain. And also, I think she’s an insanely talented interior designer. Ever seen these images floating around the Internet? Yeah, that’s all Irene. Are you intrigued? I am too, and have been since I discovered her blog early last spring. Whatcha got for us, designstILes?

Name and age: Irene Lovett. I’m 27. Okay fine, I’m 29. But don’t tell anyone.

Your Blog: designstILes. One word. I and L are capitalized. People misspell it all the time, but I guess that’s my fault for going with something reminiscent of an AOL screen name. 

Current City: Sherman Oaks, CA, an LA suburb.

places I want to visit in my lifetime:

My husband and I have been talking about visiting Montevideo, Uruguay for years now, so it’ll be good to check that one off our list. We’ve been told it has a strong Spanish and Italian influence. We both loved Spain and Italy and I think we’ll enjoy this city equally, without the Euro price tag.

Toronto. Another European influenced city with diversity, good food and lots to explore. Plus, Canadians are nice.

Stockholm. A certain blog indicates there’s great streetstyle. I’d like to scope it out first-hand.

Boston. We’ve been to just about every major city in The US but have not had a chance to visit Boston.

I think it’s a must. Fiji. We’re gonna need a relaxing vacation if we go to all of the above cities.

books I want to read in the next year

I think I should finish the 4 books I’ve already started…last year. Less Than Zero. If You Have to Cry Go Outside, In Defense of Food and Love in The Time of Cholera. I only listed four, but I’m sure there’s more lying around the house with bookmarks in them. It’s a terrible habit.

3 photos that exemplify what I want my life to look like in 5 years 

I’ve been married for five and a half years and we have yet to have any children, but slowly I’m starting to picture them in my life. I’m pretty sure I’ll at least have one in five years. If I continue to pursue my own interior design business, I see a desk full of fabrics, trims and materials. Not one to take life too serious, I laugh a lot. My favorite laughing partner is my husband. We tend to crack the most jokes right before bed. It’s my favorite part of our day and it’s something I see us enjoying for the next five years and beyond.

2 goals I’m currently working on (and what I’m doing to get there)

My services has read ‘Coming Soon’ since the beginning of the year. Coming soon, I promise. It’s on my to-do list everyday and it’s like that assignment you know you have to do but keep putting off. I try to update my draft every so often. I need to just set a due date for it.  2 – Build more clientele (read goal no. 1)

1 thing I’ve been dreaming about is…

Just one thing? Sounds like a fairly simple dream, but my dream is to be happy for the rest of my life. This dream involves a somewhat simple life filled with good food, a happy home and the occasional expensive shoes. And travel. Can’t leave out traveling. On a private jet? You said dream big, right? And I said somewhat simple. : )

How did your blog get its name?   In college I had to come up with a business name for one my of classes. I came up with stiles design group. I thought I was clever swapping out the Y in style for an I to represent my initial. When it came to choosing a name for my blog, stiles design group was too businessy, so I went with designstILes. One word. My father-in-law noticed the capitalized I in stiles and pointed out that my married last name began with L, so now the I and the L are capitalized. Perfect, I thought.

Who serves as a source of inspiration for you?  People inspire me. In high school I had a creative set of friends. They inspired my stile, my music selection. They inspired me to be different. Or maybe it was always within, but through them I explored my interests. My husband inspires me to work hard. And this amazing world wide web inspires me everyday through countless resources.

What is your proudest achievement to date? This was a toughie. I thought I needed to show off medals or awards indicating what I’ve achieved, but sometimes an achievement is more personal. Something from within. Creating a blog has allowed me to put some of my ideas out for the world to see, and when someone tells me I’ve inspired them in some way, that’s an amazing feeling. My cousin pulled me aside one day and told me she was my biggest fan. She said I made her see in color. Her clothes and home accessories were very black and white and because of my blog she started seeing design differently. I changed her outlook and I will forever cherish that moment.

Where is your favorite place to rest and re-charge? At home, on our bed with my husband and two pups. We play with the dogs, laugh and usually a nap follows.

When did you first start blogging, and why do you keep doing it? I started a blog in September of ’09. I wrote one post and switched to wordpress in December of that same year. Again, I wrote one post and didn’t start updating on a regular basis until February of ’10. It’s something I had been wanting to do for over a year and one day I was like, I can do this now or keep waiting. I’ve stuck to it and I keep doing it because I genuinely enjoy it. I love sharing my inspirations and I love ‘meeting’ people from all realms of life. It’s a great community.

image sources 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

10 Responses

  1. […] we get this party started I’d like to say Thanks to Victoria for featuring me on her blog […]

  2. Thanks for having me, Victoria. It was fun fake traveling and jotting down my goals.

  3. I love this series and Irene is a perfect person to learn more about. I think she’s funny, talented and oh-so-stylish. If I ever make it out to SoCal I am totally going to stalk her.

  4. Kudos to you Victoria for this feature. I’m a daily reader of Irene’s blog but I learned so much about her here. Love it!

  5. I absolutely love this series. So fun getting to know more about Irene!

  6. Irene is a crack up…she’s like one of my long lost sisters and I’m pretty sure that we could talk design for a very long time together…she is rad. I’m always happy to get to know my blog buddies better (c:

  7. It was great learning more about Irene!

  8. omg another valley girl! I had no idea!

  9. Irene is so fabulous! Loved learning a bit more about her :)

  10. […] Remember her from this post? […]

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

