• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Fall Color Blocking

Well, darlings, I don’t know if you’ve heard, but today is July 19, which means that we’re less than two weeks away from my birthday, after which time we’ll be one month away from Labor Day. In other words, fall is just around the corner. Say it isn’t so!!

You’re probably aware that one of spring and summer’s biggest trends has been color blocking. And personally, I can’t think of a more perfect way to transition from summer to fall. It’s lucky that so many of the popular color blocking colors — oranges, reds, pinks — pair so beautifully with the rich browns and jewel tones of autumn.

I feel like I’ve been in a bit of a clothes rut (I honestly think it’s a product of the cold San Francisco summer…there is NO point in spending a ton of money on summer clothes when you live here), so I haven’t really tested the waters with color blocking, but I’m thinking with the right accessories, I could really get into it for fall. Here are some ideas I came up with:

1. Ralph Lauren Alescha Suede Straight Skirt

2. DVF Bairly Louche Top in Red Orange

3. K. Slademade Suzy Market Clutch

4. DVF Harrington Vest in Coral Spice

5. Calvin Klein Ultra Sheer Knee High Sock, via Asos

6. Proenza Schouler PS1 Pochette

7. BCBG Max Azria Sweater Dress via Bluefly

8. Tory Burch Reversible Logo Belt

9. Madewell Archive Leather Boots

My fave look is definitely the first. There’s something so sexy-yet-classic about a suede pencil skirt paired with a beautiful top.

Also, a little note about those Madewell boots. I wanted those last year soooooo badly. I even got a gift certificate for Christmas to buy them. And then, gosh darn it, they SOLD OUT. So do me a favor and don’t tell your friends about those. I need to buy a pair ASAP before they’re gone again!!!

4 Responses

  1. Great picks! I especially love those Madewell leather boots… Perfect fall boot, seriously perfect.

  2. Ooh the 3rd outfit is my favorite!

  3. I can’t believe it’s already mid-July!! Scary. Scary. I love the last outfit and those boots are fabulous!!

  4. Love all of these combos. You’ve got a great eye!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

