• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

The Amazing Alexis Bittar

I’m ashamed to admit it, but there has been an Alexis Bittar store just down the street from my office in San Francisco for months now and I still have never managed to venture inside. His work has been recommended to me by a couple people (Hi, Jen!), so when my friend Susannah and I happened upon an Alexis Bittar store in Venice, I immediately strong armed her into going in.

I didn’t know this, but Alexis’ work is actually quite famous. In fact, you’ve probably seen TONS of his pieces, and never even known it! Alexis worked with Pat Field to design exclusive pieces for Sex and the City; one look inside his boutique, and you’ll see plenty of statement necklaces and cuffs that just scream ‘SAMANTHA!’

His story is pretty amazing, too. His parents were both antique collectors, and in the late 1980s and early 1990s, Alexis began making jewelry and selling it on the streets of New York. From there, his work was discovered by the Fashion Director of Bergdorf Goodman (wow!), and his career took off.

His collection is HUGE, but some of the most interesting pieces to play with were from the Lucite line. These items are all hand carved from lucite, and when you put them on, they look different on everybody based on the light you’re in and the colors in your skin. I tried on one pair of clip on lucite earrings that looked as if they had lights in them because of it!

Alexis’ pieces are bold, but at the same time, manage to be so pretty and feminine. I loved that by just adding a simple gold cuff to my outfit, it was an immediate statement, and the only piece of jewelry I would’ve needed.

Below are some of my favorites that we spotted in the Venice location. Susannah ultimately took home the gold and turquoise pendant necklace, which looked BRILLIANT against her skin. I was dying for the Spring Fern necklace, but sadly, it was not in my budget. We had to leave the store in order to make our dinner reservation, but with the extraordinarily friendly sales staff and the ‘try on anything you want!’ policy, I guarantee we could’ve stayed there for hours. If you’re lucky enough to live near a store, be sure to go in and play dress up!

{Image Credits: Alexis Bittar}

5 Responses

  1. You are so right, they are completely amazing!!! I think I would love to be able to just walk in and pick out whatever I wanted…truth be told, I fancy myself more of a Carrie than a Samantha, but i would call myself whatever to own one of these little beauties! (c:

  2. His work is so gorgeous – I love it a little more every season. Did you know that each lucite piece is completely carved by hand, just like a sculpture, then handpainted that beautiful luminous glow? The lucite really must be seen in person to appreciate the artistry.

    Alexis is perhaps most famous for his lucite pieces, but he also designs a gemstone Elements line (the Calder pieces above) and a Victorian/gothic/punk Miss Havisham crystal encrusted collection. You chose some great items from his lines!

    (Disclosure – as Victoria knows, I’m not a rep for the line, but I am an accessories buyer and Alexis Bittar is one of my favorite artists!)

  3. His jewelry is amazing!! I’ve admired it for some time and am going to check out the website now. You selected some gorgeous pieces!

  4. These pieces are stunning and I love that they have a try on anything policy… definitely makes it at least seem more accessible. Now just wishing for a DC store… hint hint to those reading the google alerts.

  5. I love Alexis Bittar. I have the hinge bracelet you posted above, only in gunmetal, it is stunning.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

