• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Monday Musings: Blogging Inspiration

Anyone who has ever maintained a blog can tell you it’s not always the easiest thing. There are some weeks where you’re just bursting full with inspiration and ideas, and some where it can be a struggle to put together a single post. This is actually one of the things I like about blogging. No matter the week, I really enjoy the challenge of having to find inspiration, and see how that translates creatively. Don’t get me wrong — there are some days when it’s still really tough, and nothing gets posted.

So here’s this Monday’s question: where do you go to be inspired? Do you find that stepping away from the computer for a while helps get the creative juices flowing? (this is definitely true for me!) Are there particular magazines or websites that always give you ideas? What do you find inspires you generally?

For me, I find the most inspiration via conversations with friends, and also, through color. Sometimes when I scroll through Pinterest, just seeing different color combinations in photos can give me an idea. Sounds so simple, but there it is. What about you?

{Image Credit: Peonies Forever}

6 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness, YES! Sometimes it is like taking a walk through knee-deep caramel to come up with an idea and sometimes, it just falls in my lap! My friend got me a subscription to BH&G DIY mag and it is so fantastic! I really liked what they had in there…if I could just find a scanner I would do a bajillion posts on it (c: happy monday my dear!

  2. Oh yes. I am going through a very unspired couple of weeks and having a HARD time coming up with new posts. I read a lot of magazines and usually find stuff there. Or, I’ll come across something on Etsy that will spark my interest.

  3. I can so relate to what you say. At times there is no stopping me, and other days I sit there completely blank with a sense of light ‘blogger panic’.. :)

    I definitely need to take a step back for a little while to recharge, and store up some new juice.
    Magazines, books and exhibitions definitely also get me going again. As do traveling, reading blogs and browsing stores.

    Happy rest of the week to you.

    x Charlotta

  4. Keeping inspired can definitely be difficult…when I lose that feeling I just try to write about other things in my life that are making me excited/happy or even mad…:)

  5. I get inspired quickly, I am a blogaddict, the only time i find it difficult to blog is when I am travelling.
    luv Chanta from Beau Lifestyle

  6. I completely agree. Pinterest is a life savor. Or rather, bog post savor. Sometimes I like to type random words in the search engine and see what comes up. It’s a fun little game to play. : )

    Hope you’re feeling better, ps.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

