• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Monday Musings: Books to Movies

Two big movies that have recently premiered are Something Borrowed and Water For Elephants. Have you seen either? (And if so, what did you think?)

I think it’s true that “the movie is never as good as the book.” With books, it’s so much more fun to imagine it YOUR way! But, here are a few movie adaptations that I think did a pretty amazing job (and that I find myself watching again and again). What are your favorite book-to-film adaptations?

Oh, and happy Monday!

{Image Credits: Atonement, Harry Potter, The Namesake, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Pride & Prejudice, The Notebook}

3 Responses

  1. Oh Pride & Prejudice FER SURE…I’m pretty sure I *own* no less than three different versions of that movie and the book…I think that says something about me, but I’m not really sure what…hopeless romantic or…just kinda hopeless??? Either way, I’m a big fan of books and movies…so if we can make my favorite books into movies, you know I will go see it every time! (c:

  2. My favorite recent adaptation was No Country For Old Men. I thought the Coens did a remarkable job capturing the bleak, subtle beauty of Cormac McCarthy’s words.

    The Namesake is a great book – I didn’t realize it had been made into a movie.

  3. Pride and Prejudice made me have a crush on Matthew macfadyen, and notebook made me cry. The others are yet to bee watched, thanks for this post, I love your reccomendations xoxo
    Chantal
    http://www.beaulifestyle.blogspot.com

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

