• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

In the trenches

{photos via Daily Mail}

In mid-March, Kate Middleton stepped out in a wool trench coat replete with a flared hem, made by none other than Burberry. And it should come as no surprise that the £650 coat sold out in a day. Kate has fabulous style to be sure, but I can’t give her too much credit here — it’s no secret that a trench coat is a classic staple in any wardrobe. After all, it was #1 on Matchbook magazine’s ’50 Classics for your Closet.’  There’s no mistaking that Burberry does trenches right, but if you’re not quite ready to invest $1000+ in a coat, there are plenty of other options out there that will keep you warm and stylish (not that I don’t daydream about owning the Burberry version too!).

1. Kenneth Cole Suede Trench Coat, $495  |  2. J. Crew Glen Plaid Trench, $189.99  |  3. Vince Camuto Belted Trench, $59.90  |  4. Zara Double Breasted Trench Coat, $89.90  |  5. DKNY Collarless Trench Coat, $296.99  |  6. DKNY Rebecca Trench Coat, $79.90  |  7. Tahari ‘Evelyn’ Ruffle Front Satin Trench, $89.90  |  8. DVF Margee Trench Coat, $565  |  9. Michael Kors Double Breasted All Weather Coat, $98  |  10. Burberry Short Raglan Double Breasted Trench Coat, $995  |  11. Burberry Metallic Button Waist Trench Coat, $1495  |  12. Burberry Short Metallic Detail Trench Coat, $695  |  13. Burberry Webbed Belt Short Trench Coat, $595  |  14. Burberry Double Breasted Metallic Detail Trench Coat, $895  | 15. Burberry Washed Suede Trench Coat, $1595

I’m kind of in love with that gorgeous little suede Burberry number, but it’s not especially practical, is it??

9 Responses

  1. I love all of these trenches – especially the expensive Burberry ones :) I have a trench from Target that I adore. It’s blue and white, but I’d definitely like to add a more neutral color trench to my wardrobe.

  2. I love the Zara Trench! Amazing price + so so cute!!

  3. Found you on Bijou and Boheme today.

    LOVE the burberry trench. The ali ro anorak is amazing, too. Have you seen it?

  4. Great choices. I’ve been on the search for a good trench but I’m so fickle I don’t know if I want to spent major $$$ on a Burburry on. I’ve had my eye on a Gryphon coat but am definately going to look into your picks.

  5. Wow such great finds!!! I love all of htem

  6. such great trench picks!

  7. dying for one of these burberry coats!!! ASOS has a great knock off :) love all your royal wedding posts makes me excited!!

    xo
    kat

  8. Ooh, Kate’s flared hem is so cute! Of the alternatives, I think #7 comes closest to capturing the reinterpreted essence of her look. I can’t decide which one I prefer, though I do prefer the price of #7.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

