• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Let day in

Since joining Pinterest several months ago, one of the things I’m finding most enjoyable about the site is that at any time, you can go back through old pins and boards and really get a sense of your own style. It’s easy to look at something and think, “Yes, I like that!” but with Pinterest, you can look at the collection as a whole and pin down (har har) exactly what it IS you like about it.

(I have a feeling Pinterest comes in handy when you have to work with decorators, event planners, and the like).

Anyway, I was looking through my pins yesterday and noticed one room detail I’m very attracted to: big panels of windows, made with small panes of glass. I also like it when the stuff that holds the glass panes together (we’re real technical around here) is very dark. I love the contrast, and I think it is a stunningly beautiful room detail. It must be because I love clean lines — another thing I’ve learned with Pinterest!

Here are some of my favorite spaces that let the light in (bonus points for when doors get thrown in the mix too):

If you’re using Pinterest, have you noticed any trends emerging from your boards?

{Image Credits 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12}

6 Responses

  1. Pinterest is amazing for that, it’s fun to see little trends popping up in your boards!

  2. I love all the windows! Love natural light.

  3. Oh, I love all the windows and natural light. You picked some fabulous images!!

  4. Natural light is by far the most *fabulous* form of lighting (c: I still haven’t jumped on the pinterest bandwagon…not really sure why…I’ve gone there for inspiration…

    Like right now, that 2nd kitchen with the long farmhouse table is inspiring me (c:

  5. LOVE these images – have many of the same pinned as well. and i totally agree about pinterest. i love seeing patterns in the things i gravitate towards because i tend to be all over the place in regards to what i’m attracted to. seeing some consistency is a dream!

    found you via your bijou and boheme feature, and am so glad! love your blog! ox

  6. Hello! I just found your blog via Christine’s- I LOVE it!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

