• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Monday Musings: What to read?

With summer on the horizon, I’ve been on the lookout for new books to read. I’m almost done with the Outlander series (which I literally have been working my way through for the last six months), and once it’s over, I think I’ll want something completely different to dive into.

Have you read any good books lately? On my list of potentials are Water for Elephants and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I’d love to hear your recommendations for summer time reads — these books will get me through lazy weekends and the few summer getaways we have planned.

{Image Credit: From Me To You}

9 Responses

  1. Water for Elephants was amazing and I’m hoping the movie won’t kill the story. I’m just starting The Transformation of Bartholomew Fortuno, another circus related book and will let you know how it is.
    Stieg Larsson’s series is detailed, and definitely a good read, but not as much depth, still great though!

  2. Water for elephants and the steig larson books are great. Have you read the glass castle yet? that’s another great one i couldn’t put down!

  3. Both of those are great options. I just finished two easy books (perfect for summer days), Easy For You and Sweet Valley Confidential. Those were fun ones too!

    • I still want to hear how SV Confidential was!! I read the first chapter online and it made me laugh. A lot. It was so terrible. In other words, I have high hopes for that book.

  4. I loved the Girl with a Dragon Tatoo series. It took me a while to get into the first book, but then I couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to read Water for Elephants – that’s next on my list.

  5. Both are on my five star list. Yesterday I finished The Girl Who Played with Fire. COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. Started it Saturday, finished it Sunday.

  6. I’m on the second book in the girl with the dragon tattoo series… I LOVE them. They are amazing. The first one takes a little bit to get through the background (100 pages….) but it is SO worth it. I literally could NOT put it down!

  7. Have you read The Help? If not, it’s a must.

    I agree with everyone else about the Stieg Larsson books – slow at first but so, so good!

  8. You guys are awesome! Okay, so it sounds like I’m in for ‘The Girl’ series, as well as Water for Elephants. I’ve seen The Help and The Glass Castle in bookstores, so I’ll check those out too!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

