• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Monday Musings: Wearing White

Imagine this: It’s a beautiful spring morning and you’re looking lovingly into your closet. What to wear to celebrate the season? Should you go with that über-soft, twirly a-line skirt? Your new wide-leg navy blue trousers? Or a classic black capri? Or, you think to yourself, riffling through your pant collection, there are those white skinny jeans. Or the white linen pants. Neither have seen the light of day since…last summer.

white jeans

Which brings me to this Monday’s question: When do you start wearing white again?


By this I mean a white bottom or dress or anything that gives your outfit an overall light, summery feel. See, here’s the thing. Where I grew up, white strictly made its cameo no earlier than Memorial Day and no later than Labor Day. But since leaving Texas, I’ve found that other parts of the country are a bit more flexible on this rule (although obviously, no one is going to be rocking white linen pants in late December no matter where you live).

While I don’t want to necessarily wait for Memorial Day, a few days ago I found myself hesitant to pull on some loose, broken-in white chinos purchased from J.Crew last summer. Should I have hesitated? How early do you wear white? Do you think wearing white is something that should be weather and occasion dependent no matter the time of year, or should it stick to a hard-and-fast calendar rule?

{Image Credits: 1 2 3 4 5 6}

3 Responses

  1. There is nothing I love more than a white linen pant- for me, sadly, it’s late May/June that they come out- just can’t do it when it’s still so cool.

  2. I’m shedding a little tear right now because for a mother of two toddlers, the answer is *NEVER*. )c: Unless I would like to also sport orange cheetos finger prints and PBJ smears on my pants…ha! Those little rascals. (c: But they are so fabulous…the jeans *and* the kiddos…

  3. Ohh…good question! Sadly, I don’t own any white {bottom} pieces of clothing since it matches my skin tone :) I love the look of white bottoms though…nothing says Spring or Summer quite like it.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

