• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Monday Musings: Mane Maintenance

Quite a ways back, I was asked to do a post on the haircare products I regularly use. I could come up with all kinds of reasons as to why I have put off writing this post until now, but the bottom line is this — my hair is probably my least favorite thing to thing to deal with on a daily basis.

Slightly coarse, definitely wavy, and frequently frizzy, one thing I do like about my hair is that it can be styled in many different ways. It looks great after a professional salon blowout. I can use a curling iron to make beachy waves that will hold all day. And it can also be flat-ironed to within an inch of its life, so much so that you’d think I’d been born with smooth, silky straight hair.

But the problem is that all of these things take either lots of time or a hairstylist to achieve, and I just can’t be pressed to fuss with my  hair that much on a daily basis.

Because of this, there aren’t too many products that have had my undying loyalty for years. I switch up shampoos and conditioners regularly (right now I’m using Dove’s daily moisture and intensive moisture collection, but I’ve used everything from Pantene, Neutrogena and Alba to higher end lines like Pureology, Biolage and Bumble & bumble, too).

As far as products go, I sometimes will spritz a bit of Bumble Surf Spray on damp hair for no-fuss waves. Other times I’ll use Biolage smoothing shine milk for light conditioning and to help eliminate frizz. And on lazy days where I don’t wash my hair, I’ve been using TRESemmé fresh start waterless foam shampoo (though admittedly, I wish I could find a dry shampoo that didn’t smell awful).

But other than that, I got nothing. My hair often goes up in a ponytail because I just hate dealing with it. I often think this is because, at my ripe old age, I still have not found the right combination of products to use on it.

(Mmm, yeah…there’s like a 1 in 100 chance I could ever get a bun to look this good.)

So this Monday’s question: do you have any haircare products that you absolutely swear by? What ‘hair ailments’ do they solve specifically? What’s the one daily hair care product you couldn’t live without? Or, do you have a ‘hair ailment’ you still struggle with? I would love to hear what you guys are using.

Happy Monday!

{Image Credits: 1 2 3 4}

7 Responses

  1. Great hair photos and recco’s…you’re making me want long hair again!

  2. I guess the grass is always greener because I have long straight hair naturally, but I complain because it won’t hold a curl if my life depended on it. I also often just throw it up in a bun or ponytail for lack of time/ desire to put in effort. Love the images and definitely already had a few of these pinned on pinterest.

    Happy Monday Victoria!
    ~ Juli

  3. Ugh, I used to struggle with crazy curly hair, but now that it’s growing out it’s gotten a lot less curly. I just use some frizz ease stuff and put it in a low bun a few hours after showering. Once I let the bun loose, my hair gets some wave to it. I Don’t wash it for the next two days and start the process all over again. I’m much happier with my longer, less curly hair these days.

  4. Hi Victoria! Thank you for doing this post. I tried out the TreSemme dry shampoo after you mentioned it, and so far it works well (though I agree with you about the smell). I will have to try out the B&B spray for waves.

    Take care!

    • Of course! One other product I thought of that I use if I go through the effort of straightening — a finishing shine serum (look for one that has silicone).

  5. My hair is naturally a big ol’ mess – spiral curls underneath and wavy on top with some random straight pieces. It is not a nice sight. I use Josie Maran Argan oil, which I LOVE. Helps keep in shiny and healthy with all the straight ironing I do.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

