• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Wanderlust

I sometimes wonder if there’s something about 22 years worth of spring breaks that have made an indelible mark on my psyche. Because every year around this time, without fail, I am struck with a severe case of wanderlust. Get me on a plane and to somewhere other than here, and I’m happy.

Maybe it’s that come spring, the organized part of me finds it completely necessary to start arranging any big vacations we want to take during the rest of the year. Last year, it was Paris. This year, things are still up in the air, and though we had talked about returning to France, I find myself more and more drawn to Italy. And specifically, the Amalfi Coast. Wouldn’t it be amazing to wake up in Positano, spend the day exploring the quaint hillside towns, and cool off in the afternoon with a glass of Limoncello?

Nothing is in the works yet, but these photos I found of the Amalfi Coast will make it very hard to wake up for work.

Have any of you spent time in Italy? Where did you go? I’ve also heard rave reviews of Cinque Terre, which is also on my list, as is the Tuscan countryside. Or, am I way off? Is there some other fabulous place we should visit this year?

{Image Credits: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11}

4 Responses

  1. I went to Italy this summer and it was absolutely incredible. (you can see a couple of my pictures here: http://thingsthatsparkleblog.blogspot.com/2010/08/tiny-little-picture-recap.html)

    We went to Cinque Terre and Santa Margherita and it was unbelievable. I have also been to Positano and love it there. You can’t really go wrong in Italy!!

  2. I love italy- been to Venice, Rome- Florence (Twice) Capri and Sorrento- so beautiful.
    We have never really given up Spring Break except for a few years when the monkeys were very young- now we travel when they are off school.

  3. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head because I’ve been gravitating towards travel images without realizing it’s really just my conditioning to years of Spring Break. My location of choice has been Tanzania to climb Kilimanjaro, but now you’ve got me craving Italy too!
    Happy St. Patty’s Day!
    ~ Julie

  4. Oh I just love Italy! I used to have to travel there all the time for work. To Milan and Bologna and I always used to tag on extra time for vacation. I’ve been to both of those places as well as Venice, Florence and Camogli which is the start of the Italian Riviera. It’s beyond gorgeous!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

