• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Monday Musings: Hermès Avalon blanket

On Saturday, Joe and I were downtown looking for new shoes for him, when we happened to pass by the Hermès store. I’d never been inside the San Francisco location, and after reading Bringing Home the Birkin last summer, I was a bit intrigued, so we popped on in.

The store is beautifully laid out, but it was of course a browsing only experience (call me crazy, but I wasn’t prepared to spend $225 on a simple candle, or $800 on a less-than-fluffy bathrobe. We also discovered that basic cotton polo shirts cost $1500).

While we were looking but not touching, I came across several of the famed Avalon blankets. They were softer than I had anticipated, and surprisingly plush. But although I think the Avalon blanket is a great, classic accent for many spaces, I don’t think I could ever justify spending $1225 on a throw blanket, even if I had the cash to do so.

Which leads me to this Monday’s question: if you could, would you ever indulge in a Hermès Avalon? What do you think of these babies? I suppose one could argue that this is an investment piece that could be treasured for years and years to come, if well cared for. And it certainly does make a statement in every room. But if you’re still not convinced, tell me what you’d rather spend that cash on!

{Image Credits: Pinterest 1 2 3 4; La Dolce Vita; Elements of Style}

 

3 Responses

  1. I love the blankets- I am a hudson’s bay blanket lady- and they are classics and collectors- but not over a thousand dollars-
    (my post about HBC)
    http://ladyofthearts.blogspot.com/2010/12/hudsons-bay-co.html

    I think if my first or last name started with an H then I would- (assuming someone said ‘here is this money and it must be spent frivolously’).

  2. I just noticed you added me to your “new finds” — so sweet of you :)

  3. I feel REALLY mixed about this blanket. I love it, but I don’t like that I do… cant decide

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

