• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Monday Musings: The Maxi Skirt

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve probably noticed that the maxi skirt is back in full force. Pegged as a big trend both last fall and this spring (and perhaps into Fall 2011, too), there have been countless examples of ways to style this look.

Me? I’m still mixed. Based on my frame, I can’t think of a universe in which this would look good on me personally. It seems like in order to pull this look off, you need to be super skinny, and can’t have a big bust. Agreed?

I do have to admit, a few of the street style outfits I’ve seen completely rocked this look (see: Olivia Palermo in that ruffly, floral skirt), but I’m not sure I’ll be investing in a maxi skirt myself.

So my Monday question for you all today. The maxi skirt: a spring do, or don’t? If it’s a do for you, how do you like to wear it? And if it’s a don’t, do you have a favorite spring trend?

{Image Credits: Lucky Magazine, Fashionologie 1 2, Style.com 1 2, Olivia Compulsive Disorder, Olivia Palermo’s Style 1 2}

8 Responses

  1. Maxi skirts look great on some people – I know that you would look fab in one!

  2. Victoria, I don’t think its the frame because I’m 5’9″ with a slender build and I still feel like they make me look shorter and dowdy, even in a flowing fabric. I just don’t think maxi’s are a very flattering piece. This spring I’m looking forward to get getting some 70’s esque, floor sweeping bell bottoms to really elongate my legs. Also, I’m hoping to mix in more metallics for everyday wear.

    ~ Julie

  3. I wish I could pull it off, but I barely crack 5 feet, not the look for me!

  4. Love the look of this but I think I am just way too short to pull it off.

  5. I just love the look but I don’t think I’ll be able to pull it off. I wear maxi dresses but I think I’m too short to be cut off in the middle like that. I’m going to give it a shot though. Definitely will try some on :)

  6. Here’s a comment from the lovely Sara (A Dose of Pretty) that got lost in comment land (and I’m having trouble getting it moved over to this thread):

    I like the look but haven’t tried one myself.

  7. Definitely not a look I could pull off, but I really, really like it. Plus, you can hide pale legs :)

  8. Just dying to pull this off!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

