• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Vintage Ashtrays

After we moved into our new apartment last year and got all the big purchases out of the way (couch, dining table, etc.), one of the first shops I hit up to purchase curios for the home was High Street Market. Kelly’s online Etsy shop remains one of my favorites. It’s always chock full of beautiful objects, with a huge selection of mid-century items (and if you haven’t seen it yet, check out her feature in this month’s Matchbook magazine!).

One of my first buys from her shop was the little turtle ashtray you see above. It might seem strange to keep an ashtray out since I don’t smoke, but this little brass turtle was too adorable to pass up.

Since then, I’ve come across a number of vintage ashtrays on Etsy, and I think they might be one of my favorite items to accessorize with. I just love the whimsical shapes you can find them in! And certain styles are also perfect for storing jewelry or other small knick knacks (after a good scrubbing, of course).

Here are some I’ve recently seen:

Trust me, as a girl from Texas, those armadillo ashtrays were very difficult to pass up. Too cute.

From top to bottom, left to right: 1. Flower petal ashtray, Tinted Vintage; 2. Turtle ashtray, vntagequeen; 3. Stacking hedgehog ashtrays, Two String Jane; 4. Istanbul brass shoes ashtrays, Moment of Zen; 5. Crab ashtray, High Street Market; 6. Wheelbarrow ashtray, Mechanical Stag; 7. Fly ashtray, Honey and Fitz; 8. Armadillo ashtrays, Fabulous Mess


4 Responses

  1. Love love love these little gold accents. Adorable! Going to check out her shop now

  2. I love brass vintage pieces! Those are so adorable!

  3. I love those! Especially the flower one.

  4. Vintage items are a major love. And after reading your About Me, I must say that I totally subscribe to your brand of life ;)

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

