• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

My Favorite Things: 1551 Transformed (Classically Eclectic)

Hello vmac+cheese readers – Kelly from 1551 Transformed/Classically Eclectic here! I’m so excited to be guest posting on Victoria’s blog! This is my first guest post ever, so I hope I do Victoria proud.

Today I’ll be sharing with you three of my favorite home furnishings. It was a difficult task to just pick three things because I love so many of the furnishings in myhome (that’s a good problem to have, right?).

Let’s start with one of my favorite pieces of “art”. I love to have artwork that has meaning and is special to me. This poster is from the Dale Chihuly exhibit at the deYoung Museum. It was the first trip that my husband (then boyfriend) and I took together. Neither of us had ever been to California, and we planned the entire trip around the Chihuly exhibit (he’s one of my favorite artists). It was a blast! Whenever people visit our home for the first time, this is almost always a piece they comment on. I think it’s partially due to the “loud” frame I chose for it. I really wanted the frame to draw attention to the poster but also complement the image.


In terms of furniture, one of my favorite pieces is our wine bar from Crate and Barrel. This was the first piece of furniture we purchased together. After our trip to California (Sonoma Valley) we were (and still are) hooked on wine. I also love styling the wine bar with different accessories; it makes me feel like I’m part of the Lonny team. Don’t they always have the best photos of bar carts?!


Lastly, I’m really loving my new zig zag rug. This was a Christmas gift from myparents. The living room is still in flux; we’re short on furniture in case you didn’t notice!! The rug is a lot of fun though (and very affordable), and I think eventually it would look great in a nursery if I tire of it in the living room!


So there you have it- three of my favorite furnishings! Thanks again to Victoria for having me as a guest blogger! Have a great day!
XOXO,
Kelly

7 Responses

  1. Love that chevron rug – where is it from, Kelly?!

  2. 2 of my new favorite bloggers together! So fun. Love your home Kelly!

  3. Hey Kelly,

    I’m also LOVING the rug. I have been dying for a rug like that. Where did you buy it?

    Hope to hear from you soon!

  4. Hi everyone! I just got a note from Kelly (who’s also traveling this week) that the rug is from Rugs Direct. http://www.rugs-direct.com/ShopDetail/Details/150172/Milliken/BlackandWhite/Vibe/TechnoBlack5#axzz1EoZ6z1gS

    And holy motherlode of rugs — Rugs Direct is awesome! Thanks, Kelly for turning us on to this great resource!

  5. Love Kelly and her eye for style!!! :)

  6. I’m so jealous of that rug!!! And actually of that coffee table too…Kelly just has great style! Love it!

  7. Thanks for having me, Victoria, and for all the sweet comments! I’m glad all of you like the rug! Rugs Direct is amazing!!!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

