• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

My Favorite Things: This City Girl

I’m so excited to be guest posting on vmac+cheese – I’m a huge fan!  So, when Victoria asked me to share three of my favorite things in my home, I walked from room to room, thinking about the things that make me happy at home.  And here they are:


1- Butler tray. I have a very awkward entry way.  It’s a very narrow space (city living) with my kitchen/living space to one side, and a hallway to bedrooms/bathrooms on the other.  An entry way is a first impression of a home, and it’s the first thing you see when you come home every day.  I knew I had to turn this space into something that said “welcome home!”  That, and we needed a landing pad for mail, keys, dog leash, etc. The search went on and on.  Last Christmas, this beauty was under the tree- a gift from my beau!  It’s perfect for holding pretty things {flowers} that make me smile when I walk in the door, but it’s also functional.


2- Headboard. My college roommate works for a family owned company that makes fabulous furniture.  I was able to pick out the shape, fabric and nail heads for this custom headboard.  AND we sorted through fabric swatches and photos over wine – perfect!  I ended up with a light gray linen with silver nail heads.  It’s a one of a kind!

3- Fireplace. When we were looking for a home, a fireplace wasn’t a deal breaker, but it was definitely on our wish list.  Our condo was built in the 1920’s.  The fireplace was later converted to gas, painted white and filled with lava rocks.  It’s the center of our living space and is definitely my favorite accessory during these cold Chicago winters.


I know I was supposed to share my three favorite things in my home, but I couldn’t resist!  This little nugget is absolutely one of my favorite things about coming home.

Thanks for letting me share!  xxoo

– Ashley, {This City Girl}

6 Responses

  1. Love all of the sparkly silver details (and the pup, of course).

  2. Ashley – love the headboard, thanks for the call out! Your apartment is great (obvi)! Also, thanks for introducing me to vmac & cheese! Love it!

    If readers are interested in purchasing a headboard, go to http://www.skylinefurnituremfg.com for a list of retailers.

  3. Love this post! That custom headboard is heaven! Introduce me to your friend :) So happy to have found your blog through it

  4. I spy I Love Your Style book. Great book, cute cover. And fabulous headboard!

  5. You are all so sweet! Follow Lauren’s link above for a fabulous headboard of your own!

    – Ashley

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

