• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

A caveat to my fall wish list

So this little piece. Can I tell you how I excited I was about it? I first saw it in the September catalog:

J.Crew Lamb stole

It was backordered for a while, so although I ordered it in very early September, it only just arrived. It looks so fabulous in the shots (well, duh), but in real life, I’m just not sure what to think.

Pros:

– So unbelievably, want to rub your face in it soft. The wool, despite having a crazy visual texture, is as soft as the best cashmere you’ve ever felt.

– Lined with silk, it keeps you surprisingly warm. The little grosgrain ribbon allows for some styling options, too. I threw it on over this little tee just to take some photos (not so cute), but I think it would look good with simple sweaters, or over cardigans.

-It’s a huge statement piece. It’s a lotta look.

Cons:

-The texture of the fur is just not quite what I expected. It’s very, very wiry. I know I probably could’ve deduced that from all the photos, but whatevs.

– If I’m not in the right frame of mind, it tickles my neck!

– I’m not sure I can successfully pull it off. It’s a lotta look.

So I turn to you, fair Internet. Do you have any thoughts on this lamb’s wool stole? What would you style it with? Is it worth a hundred bones? Or should it be returned to the Crew promptly?

{Catalog Image Credits: Moodboard}

3 Responses

  1. Hmmm… it’s not exactly my taste, but I think I could appreciate it on someone else. I do always admire it when someone tries to pull off something different, whether or not they succeed. I might be in the minority on my appreciation of adventurousness (is that a word?) tho.

    I think how this pieces looks will depend on the proportions. It’s probably easier for a tall, long-limbed model to pull it off without looking like her face and neck are overwhelmed. Does it look proportionate on petite little you?

  2. It’s not your imagination – the color and texture do look different from the catalog. I hate to say it, but it doesn’t look like a $100 accessory to me.

  3. Returned yesterday. $100 back in the bank.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

