• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

The one where I needed another weekend…

Hi, Friends. This past weekend was a doozy. Friday night saw us at Umami on Union Street (Locals — do NOT miss their amazing Sumo Hour specials!). Saturday afternoon was filled with errands; the evening just as busy with our first ever dinner party here at the apartment. And of course, Sunday was Bay to Breakers. Joe and I went as Snooki and The Situation. In preparation, I bought $.99 Wet ‘N Wild lipstick and used half a container of bronzer to complete the look. (For you out of towners, get an idea of the mayhem that is B2B here.)

It was three days of whirlwind fun, and I’m pooped. I’ll be back in the next couple of days with some recipes and other fun things. In the meantime, feast your eyes on these goodies, which have been keeping me inspired as of late.

For my birthday this year, all I want is a spa day and a Kartell ghost chair. Thanks in advance to all who make this possible.

Also, Paris. In like, a month. Je suis très excité!

Images {top to bottom}: Jose Villa, I Suwannee (Furbish Studios), Elements of Style, Life in a Venti Cup

4 Responses

  1. Please tell me there are pictures of “Snooki” and “The Situation” on facebook or someplace else on the internet where I can see them!!!

  2. Maybe. I myself didn’t take any pictures (this is generally what happens at B2B..too much going on to remember you have a camera), but with some facebook sleuthing, I might be able to scrounge some up.

  3. A word on French word choice…”excité(e)” has a distinctly sexual connotation, so if you say “je suis excité(e),” outside of the bedroom, be prepared for shocked reactions. I like “Je suis ravi(e)” as a substitute. Ditto “je suis chaud,” which is also sexual. “J’ai chaud” is the one that means I’m hot (temperature wise only).

  4. Ha. Hahaha! Thanks for the language tip. I’m reminded of the Spanish lesson that one should never say “Yo soy embarazada.” This leads to confused (potentially shocked) reactions as well.

    I guess the use of avoir makes complete sense. You have excitement…versus if you ARE excited, well, yes I can see how that means something else entirely…

    Makes sense with chaud too. “Il fait chaud,” so I guess it would follow that when talking about an individual the adj would take avoir too. Crazy French!

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

