• why, hello there

    Welcome to vmac+cheese. Here I'll share with you my love for all things food, interiors, design and style. I like to think of it as musings on a life worth living.
  • CATEGORIES

    eat style design beauty BTS series SF Living things I love



  • the word

  • the fine print

    Unless otherwise specified, all content, recipes and photographs on this site were created by me.

    I do my absolute best to link back to photos found from other sources, both via click-throughs and image credit listings. Feel free to use photos and recipes from this site, but please link back to this blog as your source.

    Copyright 2008-2012, vmac+cheese. All rights reserved.

    Read more about my site and privacy policies here.

    Creative Commons License


    site graphic design by the amazing
    Erika Brechtel, small shop
  • wordpress analytics

Checking in and Cheering Up

Goal: Staying in Touch

Oh, the power of staying connected!

On Friday, I got together for a long overdue lunch date with an old co-worker of mine. Actually, co-worker doesn’t even do justice to our relationship. We’re friends. Total buddies. Partners in crime. Don’t you love it when that happens? I’ve worked at places where my co-workers were decidedly not my partners in crime. Those jobs weren’t nearly as fun.

We’d tried to plan something before the holidays, but as schedules are wont to do, we both got bombarded with things and shelved our lunch date for 2010. I think secretly, he probably thought it would never happen, and that I would flake out. He totally knows about my aversion to the phone. But, I put a little note in my Google calendar to shoot him an email on Monday, Jan 4, and we managed to squeeze each other in!

You know how with some friends, no matter how much time goes by, you’re able to instantly reconnect and open up? That was this lunch. I’ve been so anxious and stressed out lately, and completely hit my wall this week, both emotionally and physically. It was good to have a friendly ear listen to what’s been going on in my life.

He was in the same boat. Work has been giving him lots of reason to worry, and in the course of our lunch conversation, he revealed he was worried he might be losing his job later that afternoon.

QUOI?

“It’s true,” he told me, sipping sadly on his Arnold Palmer. “The boss asked me to go to lunch today. I couldn’t, of course, since I already had plans with you, but then he said, ‘That’s fine. On second thought, a late afternoon meeting is probably better.” Late afternoon meeting on a Friday when budget has clearly been an issue and your current job responsibilities look like they might be unnecessary in the new year? “Totally getting laid off,” he told me.

“Well,” I said, “no matter what happens, just stay positive. Even if things change for you, you have to look at it as another great adventure, as scary as it might be.”

“Heh.”

“No, really! It sounds like such fucking new age bullshit, I know, but you have nothing to gain from worrying. Put the positive vibes out there, and it’ll all work out. I mean, hell, how do you know he didn’t want to talk to you because he’s promoting you and giving you more money?”

My friend laughed. “That’s very sweet of you to say but I hardly think that’s what’s about to happen.”

“Positive, friend. Stay positive!”

We finished up our lunch and I made him promise me to shoot me an email as soon as he knew what was up.

An hour and a half later, he signed back into Gchat.

“Well????” I asked him.

“Just got out. …And….You were right.”

He’d gotten promoted.

It was an awesome way to end my Friday. And it made me wonder what would’ve happened if I hadn’t bothered to reconnect with him. I’m sure he still would’ve gotten promoted, but I think it was the perfect moment for both of us to lean on each other, and share in the victories together.

I like this staying in contact thing. I think I’ll keep doing it.

Write a Comment -- I love hearing from you!

